Saturday, April 25, 2015

At the Water's Edge by Sara Gruen

Thank you to Sara Gruen and Spiegel and Grau Publishing and Netgalley for the Advanced copy of this novel.

In the tradition of "Water for Elephants", Gruen spins a wonderful period tale of wealthy Americans during the war chasing their fortunes in Scotland.  Yes, they are looking for the Loch Ness Monster but don't let that premise detract you from picking up this novel.  There is quite a bit of whimsy threaded through the book but none of it is overbearing or distracting from the underlying story.

The characters are drawn beautifully and remind me vividly of F Scott Fitzgerald in the attitudes and story structure.  Maddie's revelations about her life unfold very realistically and the subplot of romance does not feel forced.  I especially enjoyed the interaction between Maddie and the innkeepers.  It is so lovely to watch women become friends and reminds me of how lucky I am to have the ladies in my life.

This was definitely a "stay up until the last page is turned" kind of novel and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Goodreads rating: 5 stars


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23209927-at-the-water-s-edge?from_search=true&search_version=service

No comments:

Post a Comment